ACADEMIC SENATE

OF

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY SAN MARCOS

September 1, 2010 Commons 206

Minutes

Voters Present Robert Aboolian, Wayne Aitken, Don Barrett, Kristin Bates, Staci Beavers, Vivienne Bennett, Elizabeth Bigham, Jerry Breckon, Heidi Breuer, David Chien, Melanie Chu, Annette Daoud, Charles De Leone, Sharon Elise, Anne Rene Elsbree, Darel Engen, Fang Fang, Merryl Goldberg, Rocio Guillen, John Halcon, Joan Hanor, Soheila Jorjani, Pam Kohlbry, Jeffrey Kohles, Fritz Kreisler, Chet Kumar, Andre Kündgen, Brenda Martin (Staff), Cyrus Masroori, Janet McDaniel, Michael McDuffie, Ofer Meilich, Yvonne Meulemans, Dick Montanari, Bud Morris, Kristin Moss, Salah Moukhlis, Karno Ng, Mohammad Oskoorouchi, Kimberley Pulvers, Brooks Reid, Alberto Ribas-Casasayas, Amanda Riley (ASI), Lorri Santamaria, Patty Seleski, Alyssa Sepinwall, Linda Shaw, Laurie Stowell, Marie Thomas, Jackie Trischman, Wenyuh Tsay, Kathleen Watson, Aníbal

Yáñez-Chávez, Rika Yoshii, Xiaoyu Zhang

Not Present Bonnie Bade, Glen Brodowsky, Catherine Cucinella, Ken Mendoza, Carmen Nava, Tejinder

Neelon, Edward Price

Parliamentarian Jackie Trischman

Ex-Officio Present

David Barsky, AVP-AP; Gerardo Gonzalez, AVP-R/Dean GS; Kit Herlihy, Int. Assoc. Dean Library; Jennifer Jeffries, Int. AVP-PA; Janet Powell, AVP-AR; Patricia Prado-Olmos, Int. Dean CoE; Barbara Preece, Dean Library; Eloise Stiglitz, VP-SA; Wayne Veres, CIO & Dean IITS

Guests Present Darren Bush, AVP-EMS; Dawn Formo, Assoc. Dean CoAS; April Grommo, IITS; Graham Oberem, Assoc. Dean CoAS; Linda Scott, IITS; Patricia Stall, Int. Assoc. Dean CoE; Marshall Whittlesey, CoAS; Kara Witzke, CoAS

Staff Marcia Woolf, Senate Coordinator

- I. **Group Photo** The annual group photo was taken.
- II. Approval of Agenda

Motion #1 M/S/P*

To approve the agenda as presented.

- III. Chair's Report: Rika Yoshii Yoshii welcomed senators to the new academic year. Senators will be asked to raise a name sign in order to be recognized during Senate meetings this year, and Woolf gave a presentation of the new standing committee Moodle containers.
- IV. **Secretary's Report: Mohammad Oskoorouchi** A written report was provided.
- ٧. President's Report: Karen Haynes Unable to attend.
- VI. Provost's Report: Emily Cutrer Unable to attend.

- **VII. ASCSU Report: Brodowsky/Montanari** An overview of the ASCSU and its relationship to CSUSM was provided by Montanari.
- **VIII. CFA Report: Don Barrett** Bargaining on a successor agreement is underway. We will have phone banks on campus in October for "support the CSU" calls to legislators.
- **IX. ASI Report, Amanda Riley** An update on ASI activities was provided, including a statewide voter registration drive that incorporates an education component aimed at raising student awareness of the CSU's budget problems.
- X. Committee Reports Committee chairs were introduced and meeting times and locations announced.
- XI. Consent Calendar
 - **NEAC** Recommendations A written list of recommendations was provided.

Motion #2 M/S/P*

To confirm the recommendations as presented.

- XII. Old Business None.
- XIII. New Business None
- XIV. Information Items
- **A. FARS & APDB reporting** A proposed system for the reporting of faculty workload in PeopleSoft was showcased by Grommo, Marks, and Powell.
 - B. 2009/10 Student Grade Appeals Committee annual report A written report was provided.
- XV. Senators' Concerns and Announcements

Meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m. Prepared by Marcia Woolf, Academ	ic Senate Coordinator	
Approved by the Academic Senate	Mohammad Oskoorouchi, Secretary	Date